About Us

About Us

  Our Staff  http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=307 Code of Conduct for Patrons of Basehor Library http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=859 Code of Service Policy http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=853 Friends of the Basehor Library http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=686 Basehor Library Board of Trustees  http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=682 Holiday Schedule & Closings  http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=615 Employment Opportunities  http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=599 Directions to the Library  http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=556 Our Strategic Plan 2013-2015  http://basehorlibrary.org/?p=375

Code of Conduct for Patrons of Basehor Library

  This Code of Conduct is intended to encourage behavior that supports the library’s Code of Service in providing a safe, clean, organized, and appropriate environment.  Behavior becomes unacceptable when it interferes with this Code of Service, compromises the rights of others, causes damage to buildings or equipment, or causes injury to oneself or others.  Those willing to modify unacceptable behavior are always welcome to stay.  However, those unable to… Read more »

Code of Service Policy

  Our pledge to you: The library public is entitled to easily accessible library collections in a safe, clean, organized, and appropriate environment staffed with friendly, courteous people. Each member of the library public is to be welcomed, fairly and courteously, without discrimination. Service to the public takes precedence over the library’s internal paperwork and internal communications. Information given to the library public will be based on verifiable, current sources,… Read more »

Friends of the Basehor Library

DSC03123

Friends of the Library Encourage community awareness of library services. Provide volunteer assistance. Raise funds to purchase equipment and materials not available through the regular library budget. Sponsor adult, teen, and children’s programs. Conduct used book sales. Contribute to the maintenance of the saltwater aquarium Benefits of Being a Friend… Receive the quarterly newsletter. Advance book sale date for “members only.” Notification by mail of Friends of the Library programs… Read more »

Basehor Library Board of Trustees

Melissa Orton, John Albertson, Cindy Pruitt, Dean Weddum (back row) David Miller, Tammy Potts, Chris Miller (front row)

Chris Miller Position:    Chair Term:         2011-2015 Tammy Potts Position:    Secretary Term:         2010-2014 Melissa Orton Position:    Treasurer Term:         2012-2016 Dean Weddum Position:    Trustee Term:         2009-2013 David Miller Postion:    Trustee Term:        2011-2015 Cindy Pruitt Position: Trustee Term:        2012-2016 John Albertson Position:  Trustee Term:        2009-2013

Holiday Schedule & Closings

  Holiday Closings – 2014 Wednesday, January 1 – New Year’s Day Monday, January 20 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, February 17 – Presidents’ Day Sunday, April 20 – Easter Sunday, May 25 – Memorial Day Holiday Monday, May 26 – Memorial Day Observed Friday, July 4 – Independence Day Thursday, Aug 7 – Staff In-Service Sunday, August 31 – Labor Day Holiday Monday, September 1 – Labor… Read more »

Employment Opportunities

  Basehor Community Library posts job opportunities as they become available. Inquiries will be considered only if the applicant has submitted a completed application, as well as a resume. Please send both an application and resume via one of the following: By Email (preferred): jobs@basehorlibrary.org In person at: Basehor Community Library By mail: at 1400 158th Street, Basehor KS 66007 Employment Application – Download and complete. Part-time positions: Library Assistant Full-time… Read more »

Directions to the Library

  From State Ave. (Highway 24/40): At the light, TURN NORTH onto 158th st.  Drive on 158th about a quarter mile.  TURN LEFT onto Garden Parkway.  You’ll see the library on your right-hand side.  Take the first RIGHT into our parking lot.  We’ll see you inside!  

Our Strategic Goals 2013-2015

  Through our strategic planning process, The Basehor Community Library Board of Trustees has defined the following four  strategic priority areas for 2013-2015. 1. Deliver Outstanding Children’s and Youth Services and Programs 2. Serve as a Community Gathering Place – Be a Comfortable Place to Visit and Use 3. Maintain “Expected” Services While Also Adding Several New High Value Services 4.  Support and Foster Community Awareness and Involvement

Our staff

  Diana Weaver, Director   dweaver@basehorlibrary.org Jenne Laytham, Asst. Director   jlaytham@basehorlibrary.org Vickey Long, Children’s Services   vlong@basehorlibrary.org Amy Schaffer, Teen Services   aschaffer@basehorlibrary.org Laura Carroll, Adult Services   lcarroll@basehorlibrary.org Cyndi Kenton, Library Asst.   ckenton@basehorlibrary.org Diane Staab, Library Asst.   dstaab@basehorlibrary.org Erin Shorney, Library Asst.  eshorney@basehorlibrary.org Jean Scheller, Page   jscheller@basehorlibrary.org Jeff Healy, Library Asst./Interlibrary Loan   jhealy@basehorlibrary.org Marci Scherer, Office Manager   mscherer@basehorlibrary.org Janice Garcia, Library Asst.   jgarcia@basehorlibrary.org Susan Eder, Library Asst.   seder@basehorlibrary.org Laurie Jorgensen, Courier Asst./Page   ljorgensen@basehorlibrary.org… Read more »